Strategic Planning

Component 1 – Strategic Planning Partnerships

The Strategic Planning Partnerships component will help African universities in partnership with Canadian universities strengthen their strategic plans for improved outreach to external stakeholders.

What’s new

The second year of the project has been busy with supporting the implementation of the activities through proper administrative and financial processes both at the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada and the Association of African Universities. All actions planned are progressing as forecasted.

Fifteen African universities have a contribution agreement with the Association of African Universities and 12 Canadian universities have a contribution agreement with the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada for the strategic planning partnerships component of the project.

Out of the 15 African universities in 10 countries, eight universities are in five CIDA-priority countries in compliance with the contribution agreement signed between CIDA and our association.

The majority of Canadian universities participating in the program have hosted their African counterparts and organized public engagement activities such as presentations by their visitors on the challenges faced in the African context by the higher education sector.

Articles and reports are available on the participating universities’ websites.

Here is the list of successful Strategic Planning Partnerships:

African institution Canadian Institution
Hawassa University, Ethiopia University of Saskatchewan
Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology, Kenya The University of Western Ontario
Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology, Kenya University of the Fraser Valley
The National University of Rwanda, Rwanda The University of Western Ontario
Njala University, Sierra Leone University of Guelph
Université de Bamako, Mali Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières
Université de Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso Université de Moncton
Université Gaston Berger de Saint-Louis, Senegal Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières
University of Botswana, Botswana Carleton University
University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania Carleton University
University of Mines and Technology, Ghana Memorial University of Newfoundland
University of Nairobi, Kenya Simon Fraser University
Mzumbe University, Tanzania University of Alberta
Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia University of Prince Edward Island
Université Cheikh Anta Diop, Senegal Université de Sherbrooke